PODs (PODs #1)

PODs

by Michelle K. Pickett
5stars
5 of 5 stars

Seventeen-year-old Eva is a chosen one. Chosen to live, while others meet a swift and painful death from an incurable virus so lethal, a person is dead within days of symptoms emerging. In the POD system, a series of underground habitats built by the government, she waits with the other chosen for the deadly virus to claim those above. Separated from family and friends, it’s in the PODs she meets David. And while true love might not conquer all, it’s a balm for the broken soul.

After a year, scientists believe the population has died, and without living hosts, so has the virus. That’s the theory, anyway. But when the PODs are opened, survivors find the surface holds a vicious secret. The virus mutated, infecting those left top-side and creating… monsters.

Eva and David hide from the infected in the abandoned PODs. Together they try to build a life–a new beginning. But the infected follow and are relentless in their attacks. Leaving Eva and David to fight for survival, and pray for a cure.

Main Characters

My Eva Evans

Evangelina Evans: She is smart and strong minded. A natural leader with a good heart who was chosen to go into the POD by a raffle and forced to leave her family behind.

My David Anlow

 

David Anlow (Doodle Boy): He is artistic, kind and caring. Not to mention intelligent and clever. He has shaggy brown hair and loves to draw. Chosen by raffle to going into the POD.
 

Review

I seriously loved this book. It was a perfect read for me. I’ve always found myself almost as interested in the rebuilding of society as the apocalyptic event whenever I read books like this. This book goes into so much detail about the government’s plans and how everything is being run.

I was doubtful when I read the blurb about this book because it seemed like there was way too much information to fit in a 300-page book. But somehow Michelle Pickett managed just that without it feeling rushed or falling flat. I have no idea how she was able to explain everything in such detail considering:

1) This book spans across a large chunk of time

2) There were so many characters in and out of the story that I felt attached to, they weren’t just zombie fodder

3) The love interest was slow building and realistic

“I love you. I think I have since the day you first entered the POD. I knew I did the morning I kissed you. I still know I do because I’d lay down my life for you, here and now.”

4) Detailed descriptions were given about all of the government actions going on around them, including procedures, logistics, and motivations.

The man on TV was balding. What little hair he had was gray–not a nice-looking silver or even white, but a dull, lifeless gray. Depressing. Ugly. He was the person who told me my life was going to drastically change–the man with the ugly gray hair.

Overall I found this book to be actually plausible in real life (unlikely but not impossible) and extremely gripping from start to finish. If I were you, I would ignore some of the more critical review. Most of the bad reviews I have seen are by people who, it seems to me, don’t like the post-apocalyptic genre.

Book Info

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Length: 312 pages
Point of View: First person, Eva
Price: $5.99 on Amazon


Michelle Pickett
Author
Facebook | Twitter

2 thoughts on “PODs (PODs #1)

  1. Thank you for such an amazing review! I love the photos of David and Eva…you are almost exactly on point of what I picture them as in my head.

    I’m sorry I didn’t comment on this post before. I just found it. It came through my google alerts a little late!

    Thank you again–I love it!

    Michelle 🙂
    Unspeakable, February 10, 2015!
    Milayna (Milayna #1) March 17, 2015!
    Milayna’s Angel (Milayna #2) Available for pre-order!
    Become a Firecracker! Join my Street Team! for games, contests, giveaways, first look at new projects, the chance to beta read new manuscripts, and more fun!

    Liked by 1 person

Whatcha Thinkin'?

