Freefall (Custom Culture #1)

Freefall

by Tess Oliver
5stars
5 of 5 stars

After leaving high school, with a hard won diploma and the title of most likely to break hearts, Alexander “Nix” Pierce has left his wild, out of control years mostly behind him. A small inheritance from his grandfather has given him the funds to open up his tattoo shop, Freefall, and he has started to pull his life together. Aside from trying to keep his best friend, Dray, from killing himself in the fight ring, and his slight obsession with a pin-up model he’s never met, Nix’s life is going smoothly . . . until Scotlyn James, the object of his obsession, walks into his shop.

Ever since a tragic accident killed her family and left her alone in the world, Scotlyn James hasn’t spoken one word. Up until now she didn’t care that she had no way of talking to people. Her awful aunt would never have listened, and Lincoln Hammond the arrogant, selfish man who pulled her from the streets of Los Angeles wouldn’t hear her words if she could speak. But when Lincoln insists she get a tattoo to cover up a scar on her side, Scotlyn meets the artist, Nix Pierce. And now she longs for her voice. Now she has found someone who will hear her.

Main Characters

My Scotlyn James

Scotlyn James: She is tall and thin, with full lips, long white blonde hair and large blue eyes.  She has a scar that runs the length of her side from a car accident. She is mute as a result of tragic loss and trauma.

My Nix Pierce

Alexander “Nix” Pierce: He is a tattoo artist who owns his own shop. “Freefall”. He is very tall, over 6 feet, with broad shoulders and “tiger” eyes. He takes care of his grandmother who raised him and is having memory problems.

 

Review

FINALLY!! An original story!!

This is the first book I have read by Tess Oliver and all I could think when I finished reading it was ‘Oh, so that is what a five star book is like.’ I am tempted to go back and remove a star from all of my previous reviews (except for my beloved Outlander of course). I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a good story. I forced myself to stop reading several times just so that I could draw out the process of reading this book, that is how much I liked it.

First, the cover. Yum! Need I say more? Yeah, I didn’t think so.

Second, love the characters. Nix had a rough childhood but it was mild compared to what Scotlyn had been through (love her name by the way, and the meaning behind it… too sweet). So, Scotlyn is mute but Nix has no trouble understanding her and treating her like a human being. Most people treat Scotlyn as stupid because she doesn’t speak.  Either that or an object rather than a person.

“What silence? I hear every word you write, every word you speak with your incredible face as if you’d spoken the words out a loud. You were meant to be with me, Scotlyn. Not him.”

The depth of these characters made me feel like they were real people just sitting in front of me telling their story, and really that is the highest praise I can give to a book. I can picture each one of them (even the supporting characters) in my mind like they were long lost friends. I love Cassie’s rant about romance novels. I won’t post the entire rant, but here is a taste.

“They’re [Pirates] definitely up there on the list of alpha males along with rakish lords, knights, cowboys and navy seals. Although, I’m pretty sure the real pirates were leather-skinned, old salty guys who were missing limbs and who never bathed. Still they work well in a romance novel.”

I was curious how the author was going to write the dialog between Nix and Scotlyn. I was worried it would be annoying since she would not be speaking. I didn’t think there was a way for Scotlyn to have her own unique voice without actually having a voice. I could not have been more wrong.

Nix is kind and incredible caring with just a touch of a dirty mind and mouth to match. He was so loving with his Nana and everything that he does for Scotlyn. I really like the way he doesn’t just take over Scotlyn’s life and call it a rescue.  Instead he helps her to be independent while still taking care of her.

It was so refreshing to read a book that did not feel like it was created from a formula. And even though their connection was fast it did not feel like insta-love, more like insta-caring mixed with insta-lust.

His breathing was sharp and uneven. “If I kiss you, I won’t be able to stop, Scotlyn. I won’t be able to stop myself.”

Tess Oliver is now an author the I will read without hesitation and I can only say that about a handful of authors.

Well done!

Book Info

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Point of View: Alternating first person, between Scotlyn and Nix
Price: $0.99 on Amazon (as of 1/18/15)

Series containing 5 full length novels:
Freefall (Custom Culture, #1)
Clutch (Custom Culture, #2)
Dray (Custom Culture, #3)
Rett (Custom Culture, #4)
Nix & Scotlyn: The Wedding (Custom Culture #5)

Each book is about a different couple (with the exception of book 5) but share the same supporting characters.


Tess Oliver
AuthorWebsite | Blog | Facebook | Twitter

Whatcha Thinkin'?

