Project ELE (ELE #1)

Project ELE (ELE, #1)
Project ELE

by Rebecca Gober
1stars
1 of 5 stars

Millions have already died, and thousands more are perishing daily. As a last ditch effort to preserve the human race, the government implements Project ELE. With the earth heating at rapid speeds, all remaining survivors are forced to turn to F.E.M.A. shelters to wait out ELE’s wrath.

Fifteen-year-old Willow Mosby’s life, as she knows it, ends the moment she walks through the shelter’s door. Willow has to quickly adapt to the new challenges that shelter life demands, the least of which includes making new friends and working a full-time job.

Soon after making an interesting discovery, Willow and her friends start exhibiting strange abilities. Seeking answers, they embark on a mission to find out what these new abilities mean and whether they are a gift or a curse.

This new adventure can send her world crashing down around her. The question is: Can Willow survive the fall?

Review

I’m not sure how I feel about this book. It feels incredibly juvenile. Yes, it is written from the POV of a sheltered 16 year old girl, but other YA books have managed to do the same thing while coming off more… I don’t know.. polished? I guess.

I think that if I didn’t read as much as I do, I would have enjoyed this book more. Let me explain… because I read so much (several books a week) I know what it feels like to have a really good book suck you in and make you feel part of it. A book that, if you manage to put down, you do nothing but think about the characters until you can pick it back up again. While the story did keep me mildly entertained,(there were some parts where I had to force myself to keep reading rather than giving up on the book completely) it did not grab my attention and allow my mind to escape into that world.

I do like the premise, but everything else felt a bit lacking. There isn’t much character depth, the world building leaves a lot to be desired and the dialog is stiff.

It kills me to start a series and not finish it, even when they are bad. I’m giving this series one more book to win me over before I call it quits on the ELE Series.

Book Info

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Length: 334 pages
Price: Currently FREE on Amazon

Series: contains 5 books
Project ELE (ELE, #1) (my rating: 1 of 5 stars)
Finding ELE (ELE, #2) (my rating: 3 of 5 stars)
Exposing ELE (ELE, #3) (my rating: 1 of 5 stars)
Surviving ELE (ELE, #4)
Ending ELE (ELE, #5)

Whatcha Thinkin'?

