The Fiery Cross (Outlander, #5)

The Fiery Cross

by Diana Gabaldon
5stars
5 of 5 stars

The year is 1771, and war is coming. Jamie Fraser’s wife tells him so. Little as he wishes to, he must believe it, for hers is a gift of dreadful prophecy—a time-traveler’s certain knowledge. Claire’s unique view of the future has brought him both danger and deliverance in the past; her knowledge of the oncoming revolution is a flickering torch that may light his way through the perilous years ahead—or ignite a conflagration that will leave their lives in ashes.

Main Characters

Claire Fraser

Claire Beauchamp Randall: Striking golden hued eyes (often compared to the color of fine whisky), very curly brown hair that refuses to be tamed, 5″6′ and a pale complexion. Independent, strong, stubborn, kind and intelligent. Trained as a combat nurse and served in WWII as a medic. Played by Caitriona Balfe on the Starz adaptation of the Outlander novels.

Jamie Fraser

 

James Alexander Malcolm MacKenzie Fraser (Jamie): Piercing blue “cat” eyes (slightly slanted), thick dark red multi-hued hair, 6″4′, straight nose, wide mouth and scars on his back. Stubborn, a born leader, proud, caring, protective, intelligent and funny. Skilled fighter and swordsman. Well educated and left-handed. Played by Sam Heughan on the Starz adaptation of the Outlander novels.

My Brianna Randall

 

Brianna Ellen Randall (Bree): 20 years old and very tall for a woman, nearly six feet. Essentially a female version of Jamie. Piercing blue “cat” eyes (slightly slanted), waist length red hair, curvy.  Independent woman going to school to be an engineer. She is the daughter of Jamie and Claire and was raised by Claire and Frank. As far as I could find, Brianna Randall has not been cast yet for the Starz adaptation of the Outlander novels.

My Roger Wakefeild

 

Roger Mackenzie Wakefeild: Very tall (an inch shorter than Jamie), black hair and bright green eyes. He is a scholar at heart but has deep Highlander roots. Orphaned young and raised by his uncle, Reverend Wakefeild. First-year history professor. Distant descendant of Gellis Duncan. Intelligent, curious, brave and overly kind.
t heart but has deep Highlander roots. Orphaned young and raised by his uncle, Reverend Wakefeild. First-year history professor. Distant descendant of Gellis Duncan. Intelligent, curious, brave and overly kind.

Review

By this point in the Outlander Series, I am so completely and totally hooked that Gabaldon could write 900 pages about Claire and Jamie doing laundry and I would still love it. Not everyone feels that way, but I don’t think that I am in any way the minority in my opinion.

I actually liked the fact that there was not as much action in this book and there was in the first four. Actually, I should probably correct that statement. This book is over 1400 pages long. Yeah, you read that number right. As a result, there is ample room for details about day-to-day life while still treating us to the action, intrigue and danger we have come to expect from Gabaldon. I felt like I got to experience my own little bit of time travel as I read more about all of the day-to-day situations that come the Fraser’s way.

Claire spends a lot of time trying to get a respectable surgery in place so that she can care for her loved ones with the limited healthcare available. Reading along while Claire explains different medical issues or scientific facts to 18th century Highlanders had me laughing out loud. When she used Jamie’s sperm to demonstrate how her microscope worked, Oh god, I thought I might pee. (not really…. ok maybe a little)

“He bent and kissed me briefly, then headed for the door. Just short of it, though, he turned back.
“The, um, sperms …” he said, a little awkwardly.
“Yes?”
“Can ye not take them out and give them decent burial or something?”
I hid my smile in my teacup.
“I’ll take good care of them,” I promised. “I always do, don’t I?”

Roger struggles with the differences between a man of the 20th century and one of the 18th century while Jamie is nearly consumed with finding Stephen Bonnet, against the wishes of Claire and Brianna.

“While the Lord might insist that vengeance was His, no male Highlander of my acquaintance had ever thought it right that the Lord should be left to handle such things without assistance.”

Reading about Claire and Jamie as grandparents just melted my heart. Every time I think of my tall, redheaded Highlander doting over Jemmy, I feel a bit of a swoon coming on.

I really don’t understand the people who say that the book is too long. In my opinion, if the characters are well developed, it is impossible for a book to be too long. As long as the characters drive the story I don’t think I could ever get enough.

"The past is gone, the future is not come. And we are here together, you and I." The Fiery Cross Diana Gabldon

“The past is gone, the future is not come. And we are here together, you and I.”
The Fiery Cross
Diana Gabldon

Book Info

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Setting: United States 1771
Point of View: Told by Claire in the first person, alternate views  told in third person
Price: $3.99 on Amazon (as of 2/24/15)
Length: 1456 pages

Ongoing Series currently including:
(Click here for a complete list of the Outlander Series reading order)

8 completed primary books (usually 600+ pages), with a 9th book in the works.
Outlander (Outlander, #1)
Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander, #2)
Voyager (Outlander, #3)
Drums of Autumn (Outlander, #4)
The Fiery Cross (Outlander, #5)
A Breath of Snow and Ashes (Outlander, #6)
An Echo in the Bone (Outlander, #7)
Written in My Own Heart’s Blood (Outlander, #8)
Untitled (Outlander, #9) – not yet released

Each of the main books follows Claire and Jamie, with additional perspectives from supporting characters.

3 Novellas
A Leaf on the Wind of All Hallows
The Space Between
Virgins

Lord John Books (focus is on different characters, but share characters and intersecting story lines):
3 Novels
5 Novellas


Diana Gabaldon: Author and Co-Producer
Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Compuserve

Whatcha Thinkin'?

