Forbidden Surrender (Forever, #1)

Forbidden Surrender

by Priscilla West

3stars

3 of 5 Stars

“What gives you a thrill Kristen?”

The minute I saw Vincent Sorenson, I knew he was trouble. Billionaire. Bad boy. And dangerously sexy. He was everything I craved, and nothing I needed.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t just avoid him. The higher-ups at my company decided they needed his business, and I was on the team to bring him in. Vincent Sorenson didn’t seem as interested in business as he was in me, but I knew that was a door better left unopened. If I got involved with him, it would only unearth the pain I spent years trying to bury.

I thought I had it under control, but I seriously underestimated Vincent’s seductive charm and silver-tongue. I would soon find out how delicious it would feel to let myself fall into this forbidden surrender.

Main Characters

My Kristen Daley

Kristen Daley: Mid-twenties, works as a financial analyst. She has had trouble with men in the past that is hinted at and later explained. Riley is her roommate and best friend. Scared to take chances even though she longs to do so.

My Vincent Sorenson

Vincent Sorenson: CEO of Sandworks, a business he built from the ground up. He is rich now, but wasn’t always. He has long, dirty blonde hair and a deep tan. He has a few tattoos (and nipple piercings!) and great abs. Loves extreme sports; a classic adrenaline junkie

Review

Okay, first things first, I’m going to go on a bit of a rant. This is an “installment” book. Meaning it is more like 1 book split into 3, rather than 3 complete books in a series. I received this book for free, so I didn’t mind it, but had I paid for it I would be frustrated. It would be a fantastic story had the 3 books about Vincent and Kristen been merged into one.

The way they did it, they basically just drew out the story. It wasn’t as if there was so much going on that they needed to split it up. There was not really any action or conflict until nearly 3/4 of the way through the book.

Venting over, let the review begin!

The notable difference between this book and others in the same genre is that our heroine, Kristen, does not just jump at the chance to be with the hero, Vincent. Although she wants to be with him (and really who wouldn’t want some Vincent lovin’?) she rejects him at first. And we are talking real rejection, not the playful “no, we shouldn’t” but then 2 seconds later they are jumping at him.

“Maybe your standards are too high” Riley said.
“Just because they have abs and a penis doesn’t mean I want to sleep with them.”

Whether it was out of fear or strength, she keeps turning him down and honestly I found it refreshing. About time one of these billionaires had to woo a woman.

Kristen gives us some pretty good one-liners though.

“If my battery-operated boyfriend could talk, he’s probably say I was smothering him.”  -Priscilla West, Forbidden Surrender

“If my battery-operated boyfriend could talk, he’d probably say I was smothering him.”
-Priscilla West, Forbidden Surrender

The writing style and dialogue was a little stiff, but I liked the way that Kristen’s mind worked.

I was half expecting him to pop out of a forested area nearby locked in mortal engagement with a panther, or make a dramatic appearance by falling out of the sky with a parachute. Something death-defying.

Vincent isn’t your normal three-piece suit wearing alpha male. In their first meeting he’s wearing shorts and flip-flops. He’s frequently referred to as a “bad-boy” throughout the book, but I don’t really feel like that applies. He likes extreme sports and created a billion dollar company off of an invention of his own. I guess the tattoos and nipple rings could make him come off as a “bad-boy”.

“And these?” I crooned as I fingered his nipple rings.
“Something of a souvenir from Fiji.”
“You couldn’t just get a t-shirt?”

Book Info

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Point of View: First person; Kristen
Length: 218 pages
Price: $2.99 on amazon

Installment Series
Forbidden Surrender
Secret Surrender
Beautiful Surrender


Priscilla West
Author
Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Amazon

Whatcha Thinkin'?

