Rogue (Shifters #2)

Rogue
Rogue

by Rachel Vincent
4stars

I know that better than most. Since rejoining the Pride, I’ve made big decisions and even bigger mistakes: the kind paid for with innocent lives. As the first and only female enforcer, I have plenty to prove to my father, the Pride, and myself. And with murdered toms turning up in our territory, I’m working harder than ever, though I always find the energy for a little after-hours recreation with Marc, my partner both on- and off-duty.

But not all of my mistakes are behind me. We’re beginning to suspect that the dead are connected to a rash of missing human women and that they can all be laid at my feet–two or four, take your pick. And one horrible indiscretion may yet cost me more than I can bear…

Main Characters

My Faythe Sanders

Faythe Sanders: Female werecat (one of eight) who wants to get away from life in the Pride. Trying to be independent but still strongly linked with her pride. Not very likable at first, but she grows on you. 

My Marc Ramos

Marc Ramos: Werecat (by way of being scratched) who was taken in by the Pride after he was turned. Dark curly hair, golden eyes, thick lashes and a muscular frame. Is not interested in human females. Protective of Faythe and very territorial not to mention thoroughly in love.

Review

Faythe is a badass. She is not one of those “all-talk” type badasses either. She is currently working as an enforcer for her pride. I love that her father is letting her. Given that there are so few female werecats, you would think he would keep her wrapped in bubble wrap at all times. Instead, she is chasing strays that have come into their territory or broken one of their rules.

Screw this. He’d blown his shot at nice-and-easy, which only left quick-and-brutal—my favorite way to play.

The reason I gave this book 4 stars and not 5 is simple. There is not really a lot of emotion. There are scenes that should be emotional but for some reason I never really feel it. I can’t really explain it better than that but I will give it a shot.

So Faythe has spent so long trying not to fit into the mold that the pride has made for her. In doing so, she has avoided expressing even a hint of weakness.
rogue_meow
Ok, I get that. Here is where we run into a problem. Since this story is told in the first person, by Faythe, we should get a look into the inner workings of her mind. But we don’t. We see the same person that she projects. I don’t care who you are or how sure of yourself you might be. There is no way that your inner thoughts don’t contain a few secrets that give hints to your deeper self.

I did really like her interactions with her brothers. Those are some of my favorite moments of the series.

I laughed. It was just like Owen to make excuses for someone else’s shortcomings. Even fictional characters. Owen found my tendency to speak my mind “refreshingly honest,” and hailed Marc’s temper as “a deep protective instinct.” He said Ethan “thoroughly enjoyed life,” and that Parker “really knew how to have a good time.” According to Owen, we were all doing just fine, and all was right with the world.

Book Info

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Point of View: First person, narrated by Faythe
Length: 394 pages
Price: $3.99 on Amazon

Series Contains 6 Novel -all following Faythe
Stray (Shifters, #1)
Rogue (Shifters, #2)
Pride (Shifters, #3)
Prey (Shifters, #4)
Shift (Shifters, #5)
Alpha (Shifters, #6)


Rachel Vincent
Author
Website | Facebook | Twitter

Whatcha Thinkin'?

